ATOMIC BOMBING by the US

Battleships Yamato & Prince of Wales

Canada 2012

  • DSCF5520
    Ski Tour to Canada and Accidental Tour to Korea

Josei Touring 2011 Summer

  • IMG_8860
    城西自動車学校のツーリングクラブの写真です。2011年7月17日行き先は面河。

Rio

  • Dal

Birthday Party

  • 28916035qz12
    50th Birthday Party 50歳の誕生日をネットの仲間が祝ってくれました。我が家でバーベキューをしています。

Alsace

  • DSCF3252
    2010春 次女とフライブルクから日帰り旅行 詰め込んでます。少しずつ整理してゆきます。

South Korea 2009

  • Dscf0398
    2009年3月長女のEriと韓国旅行をしました。僕の目的は板門店、Eriの目的はソウル観光。

My House

  • Dscf0050
    http://kumo.typepad.jp/weblog/2008/05/my-garden-won-t.html

« Imprinted? | Main | Chinese Communist Propaganda »

Sep 08, 2009

Comments

Try to say "katajike-nai" in front of Japanese people. He would be astonished and happy to hear that.

Thanks for the compliments - however, German and English is (close to) native, French I learned for 9 years, in addition Latin (which no one speaks anymore, of course) and my Japanese - "mottai-nai, katjike-nai, arienai, shoganai" - YES - strange Japanese I am almost perfect. But what can I say!?!?!?!

>Craig
Thank you for your comments from Florida. You are the first person from Florida. By the way, I think "squander" isn't enough, either. "Mottainai"contains something religious and faithful. It looks like you have the knowledge of Japanese. You know, "itadakimasu" or "gochisousama" are also hard phrases to be put into English.
Any way, I'm very glad to hear from you and I hope you often drop in at my blog from now on. If you have a blog or website, show me please.

>Klaus
I read your profile in your website. I was really surprised that you were born in Germany, worked in the U.S. Force and now are living in Japan. You can use German, English and Japanese. Wonderful!

I have to agree with Peter. There are quite a few expressions that just can't be translated from Japanese to another language and vice versa. Guess we have to live with it?!?!

This is my second attempt to post what I believe comes close to "mottainai " in an English translation;
The word that comes to mind is " Squander" as in " To squander a natural resource" To squander one's time", an opportunity, ones money,reputation etc.

Craig Vale
Orange City Fl

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)

My friends

URL of this blog